Fly High

Questions fly through my mind.

I ask them, shout them, even pray.

I hear no answer, not one single word.

Maybe my questions remain unheard.

I just don’t know what else to say.

How can life be so unkind?
I can’t remember the last time we spoke.

I’m sad to say, I can’t remember it at all.

I didn’t think those words would be our last.

I can’t believe how the time has passed.

After all this time, the tears still fall.

They’ve fallen since the day my heart first broke.
It hurts to think about it, you see.

Even though it’s been quite a while.

Constantly, for you, my heart pines.

I can’t help but remember the good times.

And, yes, I do look back with a smile.

But it’s hard, as I’m sure you’d agree.
Don’t feel bad; it’s not your fault I cry.

It’s cancer’s fault for taking you then.

It worries me how I can’t stop the pain.

As I say, please don’t take the blame.

There’ll come a time when I’ll see you again.

Until that day, I’ll watch you fly high.

Leave a Reply

